Today I Woke Up

Today I woke up and thought to myself “today will be different.” Today I will make choices that will bring me happiness and health. Today when I woke up I made pimento cheese (with vegan mayo), kalamata olive hummus, and smashed Brussels sprouts. That way I’d have the makings for homemade healthy snacks for at least a week. I’m more inclined to eat at home when I have foods at home that I enjoy. 
I can’t say I really care for the smashed sprouts though. They need some help. Maybe a bit of potato mixed in. Not sure yet, but I’ll experiment a bit more before I call it a bust. But I created. I tried. I did. 

Then I started staring at my computer. Never a good idea. It has a way of sucking one in….A click here. A click there. It doesn’t end. Does it ever? But I had a plan. 

And today I made it happen. Not tomorrow. Not yesterday. Today. Today I kept my promise to myself. I went to the complex gym and got on the bike for a bit–a few minutes longer than before. Then I lifted some weights. I didn’t spend forever there. I’ve gotten into traps before, thinking I had to spend an hour or two or three at the gym. But that’s an illusion like so many things. 

Meditate for a minute and have peace for a lifetime. 

But wait!!! I still had more to do for me. I needed to write. When I write I connect with a piece of my soul. I can’t really explain that with words. But writing brings me peace. So I took myself out of my environment and drove to a small coffee shop and started composing my thoughts. And allowing them to flow. 

This is the way to wake up. This is the way to live in the now. This is the way to live. One creative second at a time. 

The best part about waking up? I’ve accomplished so much and will accomplish so much more before the day is done. Car wash. Ordering new glasses. Then home to just be. Because just being means more than anything. 

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

