Which Way Will You Go?

When I arrived home this afternoon from lunch with a friend I had a choice, I could sit down and take a nap or I could make some coconut butter. I chose the latter. There’s nothing wrong with a nap, but I’ve been doing too much of nothing these days or brooding or whatever you call it and I’ve been long wanting to try my hand at nut butters.

It really doesn’t take too much time to make nut butters, maybe 20 minutes from start to finish, including clean-up. I followed a recipe that included a bit of macadamia nuts and a pinch of salt. It tasted yummy, but Ill know for sure when others give it a taste.

After I finished making the coconut butter, I sat down for a bit and realized I had another choice: plant my self on the couch for the rest of the evening or go to yoga. I asked my friend Linda what to do and she said “Go to yoga. It always makes you feel better.” And she right. Yoga always does make me feel better.

The week has been a roller coaster of emotional triggers, which can and will be exhausting. The only way out of all these twists and turns is to walk straight through them and the way straight through them involves “radical self-care” and yoga is one way of doing that. That’s what got me to yoga earlier in the week and it’s what got me to yoga on a Friday night.

In that hot room, it’s just me. Well, sometimes thoughts do get in the way, but their intensity diminishes with the time spent going within in that room. I hope you have a hot room somewhere for those moments. That hot room can be anywhere or anything that feeds your soul needs. A place that instills peace within you. Everyone has that place. We just have to seek it.

Studies have shown that being in nature for a little bit of time can cure human ails: http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2015/06/how-walking-in-nature-prevents-depression/397172/ Nature doesn’t cost money, so there’s no excuse there. Find your sanctuary and know that you can always go there because once you’ve found it, and can harness it within, no one can take it from you.

Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess/

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, Healthy Meals/Foods and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

