Yoga Your Mood

I woke this morning in a funky kind of mood. Self-absorbed. Not-so-happy. Just plain moody. I knew the cure. Get out of my own head, but how to do that? Easy. Go to yoga. Then I started a whole discussion in my head. When to go to yoga. Morning? Late morning? Afternoon? Evening?

As the discussion filtered through my brain I knew I really had only one choice. GO TO YOGA NOW. I needed a way out and postponing yoga would just mean more time in my head. I alone am responsible for my mood. No one else.

So I quickly threw my yoga bag together and left for yoga. I had very few minutes to spare but some the universe got me to yoga five minutes before the class started. How that happened I’ll never know. I am grateful though that I have a yoga studio I love that is so close to home. I used to drive 50 minutes to do yoga. I needed to do that. And I found a great base there.

But then I needed to find more time to just be. To just be me. Sounds New-Agey doesn’t it? Then again I am new agey so that’s okay. I meditate. I yoga. I’m a vegetarian. I’d be a vegan if I had enough money to hire a chef or eat out at vegan restaurants every day.

I’m digressing here. I could feel my mood leaving as soon as I reached the studio. Literally. I felt it rushing out of my body. I had no more space for it. No more space for the self-imposed brooding thoughts. No more space for anything but light.

I’m not sure if it’s the heat or the movements or everything combined. I just know I’m grateful for my yoga. I’m grateful I talked myself into going this morning. There was a time I’d blame others for my mood or life circumstances. But not anymore because the moment I blame them I give them power over me. Power over my life, and I’m done with that or at least I’m working at being done with that.

Think about it. The next time you’re in a mood chances are you are giving your personal power away. When I find myself angry, sad, or experiencing any negative emotion I work at doing something for me, something in my control, something that I feel good about.

A fabulously good friend of mine told me recently that I needed to start each day off by doing something that feeds my soul. He knows I’ve long been a people pleaser and inclined to do more for others than for myself, so I took his words to heart. It doesn’t even take a long time. Doing a task as simple as putting laundry away frees up my mental space. Taking out the trash can also free up literal and figurative space.

After yoga I took myself to Barnes and Noble to have a small bite to eat and to read a book. I’m going to tell you all about that book in another entry, but I’ll leave you with this. My day could have turned out so many different ways, but I took the path to self-care with yoga and then with a book date, and I’m far happier for taking that fork in the road.

Therapy

Follow me on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess/

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, gratitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yoga Your Mood

  1. John says:

    Excellent post! Thank you

Leave a Reply

