Flying Fat

Today’s entry really isn’t about flying; I’m here to tell you about my experiences going through the TSA security checkpoints. On occasion I have been gifted with TSA pre✔️ and that has proven to be a true gift, but the times where I haven’t my experiences have been humiliating. 
Flying home from Detroit recently found me being given a very thorough pat-down in public. When I walk through the security machines–the ones where you stand with your feet apart and hold your arms above your head–am alarm of sorts goes off because those particular machines CAN NOT DETECT FAT! Seriously–machines designed to protect us cannot read something as simple as fat. 

I explained this to the TSA woman as she tried to blame the odd read on my dress. Umm no. She told me I’d need a fairly thorough pat down and offered five different times to do it in private. I refused. I had nothing to hide. 

I did not treat her rudely or with disrespect. I understand she was doing her job. But I also understand I have a right to be concerned that an allegedly sophisticated machine CAN NOT read fat. That’s a real conundrum. 

I also chose the public pat down because, unless they wanted to remove some clothing, there was no reason to go behind closed doors. Yes she rubbed her hands over my breasts and butt and thighs but I still had nothing to hide. Yes I had to stand at a wider stance so she could determine my thighs held only fat. 

If they had heightened security because of recent events I would have been more understanding. But they didn’t. Most people sailed through security without a second glance. 

I’m sharing this with you today because it makes me mad that the boatloads of money being spent on machines can’t detect fat. And I would have felt humiliated whether or not I went behind a wall for a pat down. 

I’m not going to stop traveling but it shouldn’t have to be this way. And I don’t mind security, but I do question its efficacy. And yes I could pay for TSA pre-check but I’m not sure how I feel about giving them money so they stop humiliating me. 

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flying Fat

  1. Kelly Whalen says:

    I’m just dumb. I didn’t realiZe that is why I was being patted down!!

Leave a Reply

