A Piece of A Posture

I’ve been thinking lately about postures and how I work on them. I realized a few weeks ago that the key to “perfecting” a posture involves taking one piece of a posture at a time and working on it. During class one day, one of the instructors reminded me to keep by knuckles pressed against my chin during the opening breathing sequence. I had a tendency to relax my arms so I wouldn’t maintain the proper contact.

Constant contact between the knuckles and the chin assists in making sure all the breath leaves the body during exhale and keeps the mind focused during inhale. When I’m doing this posture I tend to allow my mind to wander—actually when do I not let it wander? By focusing on one part of the posture and working on that I keep perspective and don’t feel bad about not being perfect with other portions of the posture.

It’s been a few weeks now and I’ve been regular about keeping the contact, so now I know it’s time to move onto the next step, the next piece of the posture, and that’s my abdomen—holding it in. The more I work on my core the less my back hurts and the stronger it gets! And the more likely it is that I’ll be doing better sit-ups soon!

I can so easily get lost in looking at the science of the whole posture. Don’t get me wrong. That’s important, but I’ll reach my goal sooner, I’ll better my posture more quickly by taking it one step at a time.

Often in my journey I will get stuck by thinking I have to tackle the whole problem at once. But I don’t. I can take one tiny piece and work on it. The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step Remember that! You’ll reach your goal so much faster!

Follow me on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

breathing

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, Pranayama and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

