My New Year’s Resolutions for 2016

A couple of days ago a neighbor asked me “what New Year’s resolutions do you have?” My answer? “None.”

For so many years I promised myself perfect eating behaviors, starting January 1st. I’d eat so so so clean starting that day. Of course, January 1st would come and I’d decide, since ‘twas a holiday, it would be okay to eat potato chips and candy and cookies and frosting and whatever. Mind you I’d spent the previous few days eating every potato chip and piece of junk food I could find as I’d never consume them again after January. 1st.

Ruffles reduced-fat potato chips remain my favorite to this day and I could justify eating them as they contained less-fat and therefore had to be healthier. I’d also buy the holiday candy on sale and eat m and m’s or any substance that contained peppermint. Yummy peppermint. So tasty.

So New Year’s resolutions regarding food? Forget it! What about other New Year’s resolutions? Still the answer is NONE.

A couple of weeks ago I finally ditched cable. On Christmas Eve I took my cable box to Time Warner and gave it back, keeping only the Internet. I bought an Apple Tv box and hooked it up to my tv. This means when I turn on the tv I’m choosing to watch a show. Bye Bye to mindless viewings of Forensic Files. How much of that show did I watch? Let me put it this way—I’d seen every show. Upshot? Don’t commit crimes. Chances are the cops or DNA will catch you. I feel so free having given up cable tv, having cut the cord.

I’d say I could pick being in the moment as a resolution, but in saying that I wouldn’t be in the moment. Every moment I make a choice to smile, to feel joy, I can create a life I love. I have that as an ideal.

I’m a lucky woman. I have people who love me. I have good health. I have a roof over my head. I don’t need New Year’s resolutions. I need only to be grateful, and that I am.

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess/

Check out my website: http://www.confessionsofayogaprincess.com/

  

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Food Cravings, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My New Year’s Resolutions for 2016

  1. Brenda says:

    Good points!!! And so true. Each moment is a fresh opportunity.

  2. Annmarie says:

    Happy New Year from Scotland. 💖🌟💖🌟💖

Leave a Reply

