Which Way Do You Turn?

When I’m in the classroom I encourage my students to create new pathways, new grooves in their brains by making small changes in their routines. When they exit the classroom, go left instead of right. Take an alternate route to the destination. Say hello to people when they step on an elevator instead of averting their eyes. Being open to the universe, to the wonders it offers takes effort, worthwhile effort.

Last week in a yoga class I realized I started slipping into a comfort zone again. I stopped creating new neural pathways in my practice. When doing the floor series in Bikram I noticed I had slipped into an unhealthy habit. When flipping from lying on my abdomen to lying on my back I would turn to the right. Always to the right.

This body has more strength on the right side. I write with my right hand. I am right dominant, so when the opportunity arises I need to work at strengthening my left side. One way to accomplish this involves turning on my left side when moving from front to back while doing the Bikram floor series.

At the Total Woman gym I go to, they have a machine (I am not sure of the name) that looks similar to a fly machine. Someone told me once to use that machine one arm at a time and to start with the less-dominant arm AND to keep the maximum weight that the less-dominant arm could handle; in that way, the body could work at evening out, instead of continually strengthening the side that already had strength!

My goal for this week, while in yoga, while at the gym, while doing life involves creating new grooves, new experiences so I can continue to grow mentally and physically. How do you move when you’re in yoga? At the gym? Notice. Observe. Consider taking a new path. Create a reality more awesome than the one you already have—ONE MOVEMENT AT A TIME!

Follow me on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

Me Drinking a Lemon Cheesecake Smoothie!

Me Drinking a Lemon Cheesecake Smoothie!

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, Body Image and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Which Way Do You Turn?

  1. babycrow says:

    I noticed this recently, always turning over in yoga on the same side, so i too have been mixing it up! funny how difficult it is!

Leave a Reply

