No U-TURNS ALLOWED

I haven’t written a blog in over a month. That spells trouble. I can’t adequately explain it, but it does. I’ve been spending too much time in my head. Too much time contemplating and not doing.

The world is made for skinny people. There. I said it. That truth makes people uncomfortable. I’m not referring here to the physical aspects of life, such as small airplane seats, booths without enough space, etc. I speak of attitudes.

Watch. Observe. In many instances pretty people receive different treatment. Not all the time, but enough of the time. Studies have been done. Experiments performed and they all come to the same conclusion: pretty people receive preferential treatment.

I don’t always focus on that though. What’s the point?

I’m sitting on my red couch looking at a plant. A few days ago this plant did not look so healthy, so I cut off all the dead parts, including partial leaves. My friend remarked that it would likely improve because the water would no longer go to the dead parts; the water could now focus on new growth and new life.

Sure enough, the plant looks so much happier and healthier. So much more full of life now that the dead parts have been cut off.

I seek higher understanding, higher knowledge. For me, food represents an everlasting satisfaction, yet I know that to be a false truth. Food serves as a symptom of my search for security outside myself, but, as a friend reminded me a few days ago, the search, the security needs to come from the internal from the inside.

I made a choice a few years ago to keep searching for that internal source of well-being. I need to come from a space of non-reactivity to all that surrounds me. That’s the only way I’ll learn not to rely on food as a source of comfort.

Does that make sense?

I made that choice, and there’s no turning back. No U-turns allowed. I can’t go back. I don’t want to go back.

The path I’ve chosen is not easy, but it’s the only path for me. I want more out of life. As the Beekman Brothers said the other day “cultivating a better life is hard work.” Wise words.

That means it’s time for me to get up today and do some hard work because I have some seeds to cultivate. Some new life to sprout.

 Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in gratitude, Transformation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

