Today: Just Because

Today I took myself out to lunch: just because. Just me, myself and I’ve heard it said that the best way to relate to others is to relate to one’s self first. Since I have an issue with food, I believe it’s important to work on how I interact with food (and without food too, but that’s for another entry).

So I took myself out for an Indian buffet. I enjoy the taste of Indian food but find it complicated to cook. I also find that I can trust myself at an Indian buffet because I only take one plate and I do NOT pile it high. I take small amounts of the dishes I want and then take my time eating. Well most of the time I eat slowly. I don’t always succeed!

Today, though, I made a point to savor each bite. I worked at tasting the food I ate and savoring each bite. Then I’d check in with my body. If I wait too long to check in with my body I’ll eat too much. It takes time for the body to catch up to the mind or however that works!

I’m sitting at home now, feeling very much at peace. And relaxed. After lunch I started to think of all the things I could do and then I remembered that I could just be. I had a sixteen plus hour day yesterday, so today I need to just be.

I wish I had some more profound way of expressing the above. I can’t stop eating (with other addictions one can stop) so it’s nice to have some time where I can make peace with my demons. That’s a moment worth embracing.

Follow me on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Food Cravings, gratitude and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today: Just Because

  1. Tere says:

    This is such a good post and reminder.

Leave a Reply

