LOCK THAT KNEE!!!

In a Bikram yoga class you’re bound to hear the phrase “lock that knee”, but have you ever stopped to think about what it means to “lock that knee”. I’m not sure I did…..until Friday.

As it often happens, we hear ideas when we are ready. I still can’t lock my knee. Well I don’t think I can at any rate, but I used to think locking my knee meant straightening my knee, but I realize now straightening my knees/locking my knees as I have thought of it was more like hyper-extending my knee, which is not something I want to do…….EVER!!!!

Locking that knee involves all the muscles in and around the leg and the core. Everything comes back to the core. When thinking about locking the knee, think about engaging the core, engaging the quadriceps, engaging the hamstring, engaging the calf muscles, etc. Don’t think of locking the knee as a lazy person’s exercise. Oh and focus on the breath. Don’t stop breathing.

So many people stop breathing when they become focused on a particular pose, BUT the breath helps the WHOLE body breathe, and without breath the body isn’t really in the pose.

Does that make sense? If you hold your breath during a pose and then you start breathing again, then you’ll probably fall out of the pose. Engaging the whole body in a pose may make it seem like it takes to get where you want your body to go, but you may find with a little patience you may actually get there faster than you ever imagined!

Follow me on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, Body Image and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

