For Whom the Bell Tolls–NOT ME!!!

“Ask not for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.”

I’ve been thinking about Donne lately, John Donne. I have an evolving fascination with his thoughts on the interconnectedness of humans. Donne would have us believe that when one dies, a part of us dies as well. Lately, though, when thinking of Donne thoughts of life have filtered through my mind.

Death comes in many forms, not just the loss of an existence. As I shared recently, while going through my first blog entries I noticed how much of my thoughts revolved around others’ perceptions of who I ought to be, could be, should be. I don’t mean to lay the blame upon others. To the contrary, my existence is mine. My choices are mine.

Each day when I wake up I have the ability to make choices. I make choices to live or not to live. Sometimes it’s the little things. I do enjoy some morning star veggie sausages sometimes, yet I know people might (and have) make disparaging remarks about that choice. SO WHAT???? I’ve cared too much about that.

I believe bodies respond better to whole foods, and that’s why I aim to include more of them into my daily eating. I bought a watermelon yesterday and found myself looking forward to consuming it, but when I cut it open this morning it had no taste. NONE!!!

I’m also an emotional creature who comes more from the heart. And that’s okay. I don’t need to change that. I probably need to relax more and react less, but I’m working on that. That’s the key here: working on it.

Death takes many forms. If I didn’t work on myself, that would be a form of death. Every time I feel badly about myself, that’s a form of death, for it keeps my light from shining. All of use have lights that deserve to shine. As Howard Thurman once said: “Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

Do something right now. Do something today that makes you come alive and don’t’ worry about what anyone else thinks! It doesn’t matter. When you come alive you contribute to the fabric of society to the light and life of others. When that joy emanates from inside of you the whole sky becomes radiant with intense happiness.

LIVE YOUR LIFE!!!! Right NOW!!!!! Stop the bell tolling!!!! You are worth it!!!

Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

No man is an island,
Entire of itself,
Every man is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thy friend’s
Or of thine own were:
Any man’s death diminishes me,
Because I am involved in mankind,
And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls;
It tolls for thee.

~John Donne

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Food Cravings, Healthy Meals/Foods, Transformation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

