Portrait of a Family

Today I found myself going through some family pictures. I couldn’t stop myself from wondering what purpose these pictures served. I enjoy looking at them, but I have no children to hand them down to and no close family members to leave them to at some point, yet I found myself with an urge to share them and the stories that go along with them. I believe sharing their stories will help me, in some ways, heal my own story, and that’s really what I’m here to do: heal. Understanding others breeds compassion, and I need to feel more compassion for others and, more especially, for myself.

Each of the people in the stories contributed to who I am today, even the ones I never met. Their interactions with people affected others who affected me! In that sense, their stories are my story, so I created a page on my website where I will, periodically, add family pictures: http://www.confessionsofayogaprincess.com/#!portrait-of-a-family/c1ufv

I’ve started by adding two pictures of my maternal Granddaddy. Every memory of him brings love to my heart. He always called me his princess. Everywhere we went he’d tell people “she’s my princess.” We’d have dates every once in awhile and he’d tell them to the server, to the hostess, to whomever.

He loved me like no other and I feel him in my heart still.

He lived a life of love for all. During the depression he worked as a manager at Newberry Department stores. When people needed products but didn’t have money he would take trade. He always wanted to give to people, to help people, to love people.

Somewhere along the line he switched from working for others to working for himself and he opened up an office supply company, which he ran for many years until Alzheimer’s started to take its toll. I remember the last two years of his life more clearly than I wish, but I try to focus on the good, on the happy. I have far more of those moments. Happiness matters. Where I focus my attention matters, so I choose happiness and love and memories that inspire happiness. Love and happiness heal.

Follow me on facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in gratitude, Memories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

