How to Really Rid Yourself of Saggy Skin: False Advertising

Greetings Friends,

A couple of weeks ago my image was used without my permission to promote a product that CLAIMED to cure saggy skin. I never have nor would I ever promote such a product. For people who have a lot of weight to lose, saggy skin comes with the territory. It just does. The only cure other than strength training is potentially surgery. But I digress.

The facebook page Better than Bare, https://www.facebook.com/pages/Better-than-Bare/1575158642699204 used my image without my permission to promote luxoderm. I have attempted to contact them by several means, but have heard nothing. I posted to their page and have noticed that they now no longer allow people to post to their page. You can comment on their posts, but that’s it, so they obviously have heard my concerns and have chosen to ignore them.

This upsets me on several levels. I have worked hard to get where I am naturally, and their use of my image insults my efforts. I also read the comments people posted on facebook under the ad, and, wow, were they nasty.

I highly encourage you to take a second glance at any ad you see. And if you want a miracle cure to something that ails you, then go for a walk, take a yoga class, have coffee with a friend–those are the moments that will cure anything. Well, maybe not saggy skin, but a good laugh will make you forget anything.

Below is the letter I have attempted to send them.

Dear Luxoderm and Better than Bare,

Two weeks ago I was contacted by a friend who noticed my image appearing on a facebook ad for Luxoderm via the Better than Bare facebook page. I never authorized the use of my picture to sell and/or promote luxoderm. Furthermore I have reserved all rights to this picture, which was first published on my website: http://www.confessionsofayogaprincess.com/ A week after my friend saw my image on facebook, it showed up on my facebook feed. When I clicked on the link with my image (from the Better than Bare FB page) it led me to the luxoderm site.

Your use of my image to promote luxoderm/Better than Bare is unauthorized. You neither asked for nor received permission to use my image. Furthermore, your ad implies that I used your product or would need to use your product. This is blatant fraudulent advertising.

I demand that you immediately cease the use and distribution my image to promote luxoderm and/or Better than Bare. Furthermore, I demand that you post an apology on the Better than Bare Facebook page clarifying that I never authorized my image for use on your site to promote any product.

If I have not received proof of compliance from you within 72 hours, I shall consider taking the full legal remedies available to rectify this situation.
Sincerely,
Nancy Taylor

PS: for your information, here is a screen shot that shows the facebook ad with my image.

Better than Bare's Unauthorized Use of My Image

Better than Bare’s Unauthorized Use of My Image

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Body Image and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Really Rid Yourself of Saggy Skin: False Advertising

Leave a Reply

