Farewell Mr. Nimoy

The death of Leonard Nimoy saddens me greatly. As a child I grew up watching reruns of the original Star Trek with my dad. I fondly recall enjoying the friendly banter and witty exchanges between Mr. Spock and Captain Kirk. 

As an adult, as a woman on a mission to make peace with her body I, I have a deeper appreciation for Mr. Nimoy’s artistic endeavors, which sought to encourage all of us to accept, to appreciate, and yes, to LOVE women with larger bodies. 

I may have spent a great deal of the day listening to Mr. Nimoy’s CDs, forever etched on my iPhone, but I keep coming back to thoughts of Mr. Nimoy’s Full Body Project. He understood that full-figured women, larger women, all women had something of value to offer to their communities, to offer to themselves.  Mr. Nimoy challenged all of us reconsider and reconfigure our notions of beauty. 

Mr. Nimoy went beyond utilizing words to further his support of body acceptance. He gathered together a group of women with larger bodies and photographed them nude, in artistic expressions that reflected the beauty of their bodies in THE MOMENT. He didn’t ask, he didn’t want them to be anything they weren’t. He reveled in their beauty. They reveled in their beauty. 

In displaying these women in a sublimely artistic context he challenged all of us to question our conceptualizations of beauty, of acceptance. His most well-known role may be that of the Vulcan Spock, but, in my heart, I’ll always be able to see the beauty of the body more deeply because of work like his. Your ideas will always live long and prosperously. 

Thank you Mr. Nimoy for daring to go where few have had the courage to venture.  

Check out these links that give some insight into Mr. Nimoy’s work with The Full Body Project:

http://www.rmichelson.com/artist_pages/nimoy/pages/MaxBeaut.htm

http://www.amazon.com/The-Full-Body-Project-Photographs/dp/0979472725

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

