A Tiggerific Triangle

If you’ve been around here long enough the you know my fondness for triangle pose. I have some difficulty with it because I carry the bulk of my weight in the front, so it’s all too easy for me to lean forward and not keep proper alignment. I know when I’m leaning too far forward with my torso in triangle, and, here’s a true confession: sometimes I do it when I’m feeling lazy and it’s the easier path to take.

A couple of weeks ago, I realized that if I tucked my tailbone in just a bit it would prevent me from leaning forward. When I lean forward my tailbone juts out. It’s not how far down I go in a posture, it’s the thoughts that happen to me on the way down.

I’m on this journey to create a better happier life. I didn’t get where I’m at taking shortcuts. Going to yoga gives me a stronger body, but more than that, it gives me greater strength than I ever thought I’d have.

When I’m doing triangle I benefit more when the body is in alignment. When I lean forward and rest my abdomen or my hand on the floor, I’m doing just that—resting. I know better. And the time for resting has passed. I have a goal to accomplish, a quest to embark upon, so from hereon I shall do my best to tuck my tailbone (just a bit) in triangle. Even if it means I don’t go down as far, I’ll get where I’m going faster by not taking shortcuts!

Watch the video and you’ll see a demo of a lazy triangle and a Tiggerific Triangle!

http://youtu.be/8ccOj2dvPNo

Working on Proper Alignment in Triangle

Working on Proper Alignment in Triangle

Follow me on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, TRIKANASANA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

