My New Year’s Resolution

For too many years when it came to New Year’s resolutions I’d make promises to eat better, eat healthier, eat clean, eat perfect. What did that look like? No potato chips, no candy, no cake, no junk, just healthy food. How long did that last? Not long at all. I’d start off by saying I’ll be PERFECT on January 1st. Then January 1st would come along and I’d say well today is a holiday, so I’ll start being PERFECT on January 2nd. Then I’d spend January 1st eating potato chips, dip, cookies, cakes, and other processed sugar items I just don’t remember, basically any food that had little to no nutritional value.

I haven’t done that for several years now. I recognized the basic futility of those false promises. Oh and they’d involve exercise too! I’d start exercising to perfection on the 1st. That went by the wayside fairly quickly.

The holidays do interfere with healthier eating, but I’ve learned to stem the tide of that by bringing healthier items to parties, having bites of desserts and other holidays foods. On occasion I overdo it, but not like in the past.

I’m digressing though! I’m writing about New Year’s resolutions. I just don’t make them anymore. They tend to be a prescription for disaster. Until now! As I cleaned my apartment the other day I found a fairly decent size collection of hotel toiletries. It seems when I travel I take the daily hotel toiletries that I don’t use and bring them home with me. I’m sure I have every intention of using them, but with a few exceptions they seem to have taken up space in my cupboards.

That space gives me the inspiration for the first New Year’s resolution I’ll have made in I don’t know how long: In 2015 I pledge to refrain from taking home hotel toiletries UNLESS I’m SO IN LOVE with them that I KNOW I’ll use them. Now this is the type of New Year’s resolution I KNOW I can keep…………………….i hope……………….(untouched toiletries have been donated)

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Food Cravings, Memories, Transformation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Year’s Resolution

  1. Jan says:

    Another thing that you could do with the hotel toiletries is take them to homeless shelters or places like that. I’ve done this for years and they are much appreciated

  2. Jan says:

    Also, i love your posts. They are always so upbeat. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

