Child’s Pose for EVERY Body!

Adapted Child’s Pose aka Child’s Pose for EVERY Body!

When I first started practicing a more traditional form of hatha yoga, I dreaded child’s pose. With the size of my stomach, well my whole body I just couldn’t find a way to comfortably do the pose; entering a fetal position just didn’t seem possible.

The purpose of child’s pose is to gently stretch the lower back, hips, thighs, etc. Basically, when performed correctly, child’s pose, aka balasana, relaxes the body, the mind and the spirit. In the traditional form of child’s pose the torso rests over the thighs. That’s not a position that works for me.

Here’s a still of me doing child’s pose:

How This Body Does Child's Pose

How This Body Does Child’s Pose

Here’s a visual of a traditional child’s pose:

 

Traditional Child's Pose

Traditional Child’s Pose

At some point, I don’t remember exactly when, one of my instructors showed me a modification that made all the difference for me. The traditional instructions for child’s pose will ask you go bring your knees together.

  • I start with my knees apart and move my buttocks as close to the heels as comfort allows, and that’s usually not that far.
  • Then I’ll take a bolster, several folded blankets would work here as well, and place it between my knees.
  • Then I’ll gently move forward resting my torso on the bolster, turning it to whichever side feels comfortable.
  • My arms will either rest in front me or on the floor, parallel to my torso.

In this way, I can do child’s pose in a manner that allows my body to relax, that allows my mind and spirit to transform into a state of surrender. That’s yoga in action! That’s yoga doing its job!

Here’s a link to the video of me doing child’s pose!

http://youtu.be/uSw1vO45zd0

Follow me on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Yoga for Every Body and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Child’s Pose for EVERY Body!

  1. Niki Pierce says:

    I love how your mind works! It’s as if your mind is set in a “if there’s a will, there’s a way” frame of mind! What a wonderful frame of mind to be in, for yoga or in any aspect of life! Keep up the good work Nancy and keep moving forward! 🙂

Leave a Reply

