I Have a Dream

I have a dream. About backbends. Someday I want to touch my heels doing a backbend. Others can do it. I’ve seen them so I know it can be done. I’m not in any rush to get there, but someday I do want to get there. Maybe in ten years. Maybe fifteen years. I don’t know how long, but I know I’ll get there.

It won’t happen by magic though. It will take hard work and effort—both of which I’m willing to devote to myself. To my health.

I always used to think that the key to awesome backbend involved going as deep as I possibly could, but I’ve learned recently that’s not the case. Effective backbends strengthen the entire back. There’s several ways of doing that.

In Bikram yoga postures are repeated twice, so a few weeks or a couple of months ago, Loren suggested that in one set of the backbend I concentrate on opening my deltoids to work the muscles in my upper back, so that’s what I’ve been doing, and I can actually feel the effects. It’s not something that can easily be seen but it can be felt.

Touching my heels isn’t about the physical accomplishment, it’s about going places I’ve never been. Doing things I’ve never done. That’s what this life is about. Going places. Learning. Striving. Living. Do what you’ve always done and you’ll get what you’ve always had. I want better. I want healthier. I want stronger. And I’m doing something about that.

Half-Moon Backbend

Half-Moon Backbend

Here’s a video showing how I do the two sets of backbends. I can’t go as deep as I normally do during class because I’m not warmed up to that extent, but you’ll get the point.

http://youtu.be/H5MwujZu5Hc

Follow me on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Have a Dream

  1. Niki Pierce says:

    Keep thinking positive Nancy and you will achieve what you want! I know you will because I have faith in you! You are driven by your passion and your desire to achieve a better and healthier life! You are inspiration and motivation all rolled up in one! Keep moving forward! 🙂

Leave a Reply

