With Hands Wide Open

I’ve been thinking lately about how I hold my hands—sounds odd? Well maybe not! I’ve lived a good part of my life thinking I’m the type of person who is open to change, but the reality doesn’t feel that way to me. In my mind, in my heart I feel resistant to change. I’m not sure why. I’m not sure if it scares me or just what the case is. To many it seems like I’ve changed a lot, but I still feel like I’m holding onto something, exactly what I’m not sure. Maybe it’s the idea of being safer stuck in the past. It’s easier to deal with the devil you know rather than the devil you don’t.

What does all this have to do with my hands? A couple of months ago, in yoga, my instructor told me how much I clenched my hands. I hadn’t really thought about it before, but sure enough I started to observe myself and realized how very much I keep my hands curled up: in savasana, when I’m talking with someone, when I’m sleeping……etc…..

So I started behaving differently. I took stock of my hands. Every time I caught/catch myself with my hands tensed in any way I release them and I say to myself: “I am open to all possibilities in this amazing life. I don’t know what’s coming my way, but I’m open to any and every opportunity.” It happens more often than I can care to think about, but I’ve noticed something along the way these past couple of months.

I feel better inside. I feel more hope. I know so many amazing things are coming my way. And those aren’t just words. I feel that truth inside me in a way I can’t describe. I’m lighting my own flame. I’m letting go of how I think my life should be, so I can embrace the life that awaits me. That’s a paraphrase of Joseph Campbell’s quote.

The point being, the more I let go of tension, the more I allow, the more I stop getting in my own way. So many amazing things have happened, including this interview with the author of Yes, Yoga Has Curves.  Yoga isn’t just a practice—it’s teaching me to embrace and be open the vast and endless treasures the universe has to offer me.

Stop getting in your own way. You’ll be amazed at what happens! 

Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, Transformation, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to With Hands Wide Open

  1. Niki Pierce says:

    You are so right Nancy. It’s funny how our biggest obstacles for change is sometimes just ourselves. We get in our own way sometimes. It also got me thinking about my own tension and how I express it, which will make me much more aware of myself from this point forward to catch myself in those moments of tension. Sometimes we just don’t notice our little “ticks” until someone else points them out. You are correct though. Changing those moments of expression of tension is a way of letting go of the negative you hold within from that tension. Letting go of the negativity can only open yourself up for more positive to flow within your life and that is always a good thing. Keep up the good work Nancy and keep moving forward! 🙂

    • Niki Pierce says:

      P.s. Great interview by the way! You are becoming a very strong motivational and inspirational voice for the people looking for a positive outlook and encouragement in their own journey through life! So proud of you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

