The True Cost of Health

How much does a healthy meal truly cost? I have heard on the news and from friends that eating fresh healthy foods costs much more than processed “fast” foods. I’ve also thought this myself, so the other day I had the idea to calculate the cost of one of my favorite meals: Shine On Be.U.tiful’s Lemon Cheesecake Smoothie: http://shineonbeutiful.com/2014/05/06/lemon-cheesecake-smoothie/

This most delicious and filling smoothie has four ingredients. I made sure I bought organic items where I could. Here’s the cost breakdown:

½ banana                                             .13

3 organic mejdool dates                                1.14

1 c. almond milk                                .37

3 TBSP raw cashews                        .75

1 large lemon                                     .79

Total Cost: $3.18

Cheaper than a latte at Starbucks. Cheaper than a hamburger and fries at McDonalds (I’m a vegetarian so I’m just using that example for comparison purposes). Cheaper than a Jamba Juice. Cheaper than so many “fast” meals.  But what is fast anyways? It takes me 5 minutes max to make this smoothie in my Vitamix and clean up takes maybe another minute.

I could likely make the lemon cheesecake smoothie for less if I didn’t buy organic produce or if I had a friend with a lemon tree!  Also, dates at the Farmer’s Market cost less, but I didn’t have a chance to make it there last week.

Not only is this meal cheaper than so many processed meals, it’s far healthier and leaves me with a bounce in my step! I challenge you to calculate the cost of some of your favorite meals—if they turn out to be costlier than you like, save them for a special treat! Healthy foods don’t have to be cost prohibitive—it’s quite possible to treat your body well while on a budget!

Check out more of ShineOnBeUtiful’s awesome recipes:

http://shineonbeutiful.com/

Me Drinking a Lemon Cheesecake Smoothie!

Me Drinking a Lemon Cheesecake Smoothie!

Follow me on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

Check out my website:

http://www.confessionsofayogaprincess.com/

 

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Food Cravings, Healthy Meals/Foods. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The True Cost of Health

  1. Niki Pierce says:

    You are so right Nancy! Not all healthier foods cost more, but even when they do, sometimes the health benefit of eating a fresh and healthier meal should be worth some extra money anyway! Great work on analyzing the small details of the cost of eating healthier foods! Just another push in the positive direction of your journey! Keep moving forward! 🙂

Leave a Reply

