More on Entrances and Exits: More on My Real Yoga Body and My Real Yoga Practice

Since I wrote the blog several days ago on entrances and exits in the yoga room, I’ve been thinking about my practice as a whole and how it’s changed me. I have so many hopes and dreams, so many aspirations, more than I can list here, more than you want to know!

I used to spend a lot of time wishing, hoping, praying but not creating much movement. I never changed much, if at all.

I’m not sure where I’m really going with this entry. I seem to be having random, non-linear thoughts. I suppose I want to share with the world that I have this passion for yoga because every time I’m in the room I’m working for what I want. Every time I’m in the room I’m living life. I’m creating change. And that’s scary to a huge degree. I’ve never coped well with change: positive or negative change.

I seek to change that though and, indeed, have been changing that. Part of changing my body is accepting where it is right now. That’s what I want to share with all of you—yoga really is for EVERY BODY. When I hear people tell me that they can’t do yoga because they’re not flexible, it’s not their body that’s not flexible, it’s their mind.

This body, my body, does yoga now. It did yoga when it was much heavier. It’ll keep doing it as it becomes skinnier and stronger.  Strength takes work and practice!

That leads me to my original premise with this entry. Entrances and Exits and My Real Yoga Body. I decided to spend some time Saturday morning making a video of me going through the postures in Bikram’s Standing Series. In this video, I emphasize keeping a calm effort when entering and exiting each posture. I don’t claim to have perfect form. I’m working with the form I have. But I’ve realized lately that the calmer I am during class, the more that translates into maintaining inner calmness 24/7.

Achieving that calmness takes practice. It actually helps me to work on entrances and exits to postures outside of class. I’ve found it allows me to have greater awareness during class without having to think too much.

I also encourage you to share this video with anyone who thinks they can’t do yoga. If this body can do it……………………if someone can breathe they can do yoga………………..

P.S. In the video a couple of the poses are out of sequence! Oops! 

Here’s the link to the YouTube video of MY Real Yoga Body doing Bikram’s Standing Series: 

http://youtu.be/HcOTDXssrd4

Here’s the link to my original blog on entrances and exits: 

https://confessionsofayogaprincess.wordpress.com/2014/07/17/entrances-and-exits-anatomy-of-a-life-altering-practic/

Follow me on Facebook: 

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More on Entrances and Exits: More on My Real Yoga Body and My Real Yoga Practice

  1. Niki Pierce says:

    You are totally and completely right…It’s mind over matter. No one should ever put limitations on oneself by saying that they can’t do something because it’s not their body that can’t do it, it’s their mind. You are such an inspiration and a motivation for me to stop limiting myself! Baby steps! Keep moving forward Nancy! You’re doing an amazing job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

