Entrances and Exits: Anatomy of a Life-Altering Practice

The other day I found myself reading Bikram’s book, Bikram Yoga. I came across a passage that struck a chord within me. When practicing the postures Bikram says “it’s very important to know how to get out of the postures too.” Reading those words made me realize I need to have a conscious awareness of how I exit my postures.

In yoga, as in life, I have often felt I need to prove a point, prove my worth. I need to demonstrate my strength and worthiness, so I’ll go as deeply into a pose as possible. That’s okay as long as I consciously maintain awareness of my breath. If I hold my breath as I’m prone to doing, then it may be that I’ve too far into a pose. If I’m not breathing then I’m not really alive, I’m not really in the pose. At that point maybe I need to come out of the pose just a bit, if my ego will allow me.

If I maintain awareness of breath going into the pose and staying in the pose then I have a greater chance of consciously controlling my exit from the pose. This takes effort. Doesn’t everything worth doing?

I recall many times in class, and in life, going into a pose, into a situation, with such gusto that I didn’t have the energy to exit with grace. Reading Bikram’s words makes me realize that I can create better balance in my practice and in my life. In this moment my life shifts out of balance when my thoughts run amuck.

When it comes to the actual poses, lately I’ve made more of an effort to enter and exit with grace, balance and stillness. I’ll show you what I mean. Here’s a YouTube clip showing me entering and exiting Standing Separate Leg Head to Knee Pose without conscious awareness. Done this way, I’m not receiving the full benefit of the pose, a pose designed partially to trim the abdomen. As that’s an area I’m working on, it makes sense to make a more determined effort with this posture:

http://youtu.be/1xJLgC_hRI8

After watching the link above, compare it to the YouTube clip below where I demonstrate a careful and conscious entrance and exit to the pose:

http://youtu.be/uJQMlCD-OfY

See the difference?

Awareness brings life. Life brings hope. Hope brings balance.

The next time you’re in a yoga class observe, without judgment, how you enter and exit poses. The next time you’re in any life situation where you feel an extreme emotion: stop, breathe, observe. Find breath. Find balance. And if the balance isn’t there, then find a way to maintain your sanity until you can exit gracefully and return to a normal breathing pattern. When you’re calm, your heart will never lead you astray.

Follow Me on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

 

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, Transformation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Entrances and Exits: Anatomy of a Life-Altering Practice

  1. Niki Pierce says:

    You never cease to amaze me! You are such an inspiration as you are constantly looking deeper into ways to improve upon yourself! The difference between the two videos is apparent. The first is rushed and impulsive, whereas the second one is relaxed, concentrated, and focused! What a difference it can make by just taking some time to think and breathe…in Bikram and in life! Wonderful job Nancy! Keep moving forward! 🙂

  2. Pingback: More on Entrances and Exits: More on My Real Yoga Body and My Real Yoga Practice | Confessions of a Yoga Princess

Leave a Reply

