An Open Letter to the Editors of Prevention

Prelude: I sent the following letter to the Editors at Prevention Magazine. One of their writers interviewed me for inclusion in an article on yoga and weight loss. The article turned out to be something vastly different than what I was told it would be. I do not have any issue with the writer. She has been very honest with me. I very much believe it to be an editorial choice. Unfortunately, the editors’ choices reflect the popular media bias that yoga is for skinny people. I’m just sharing my experiences with you because I have such a passion for yoga and truly believe yoga is for any body size or type. I share my story because it’s my reality and I do my best to share my “realness”. This experience with Prevention has taught me to be very wary of any story I see in the media. In the end, Prevention’s portrayal of yoga and what they refer to as “serious weight loss” doesn’t matter, I’m still going to do yoga. I hope all of you join the yoga bandwagon with me, and if yoga isn’t your passion, find what is and do it. Life is too short for anything else.

An Open Letter to the Editors of Prevention

Earlier in the spring one of your writers contacted me for a story she was writing on yoga and weight loss. I have a blog on my yoga adventures and someone had referred her to it. She wanted to interview me about my experiences. I readily agreed for I have a passion for yoga and all the benefits it brings to my life. I also felt excited that people would have a chance to see that yoga can benefit people of all sizes.

You see I’m a work in progress. Yoga has been and continues to be a part of my adventure to greater health, which includes weight loss. I’ve lost a fair amount of weight, but I still have a ways to go. Here’s a chance for people to see yoga in action in a national magazine, or so I thought.

Imagine my surprise when I saw how the editors chose to edit the article. The entire article “The Surprising Way Gentle Yoga Can Help You Lose Serious Weight” referred entirely to people who had ten to twenty pounds to lose. The editors included my story in a side bar along with a picture of a skinny woman. This clearly implies that yoga really is only for skinny people, in spite of my text.

Additionally, neglecting to include a link to my blog does not allow Prevention readers a way to place my story in any given context. When I spoke with the author earlier in the spring she indicated to me that my blog URL would be included in the article. I fail to see why the editors would choose not to include it.

Our country faces an epidemic of obesity. To refer to ten to twenty pounds as serious does a disservice to so many. Yoga can and does help those with serious weight issues. Prevention had a chance to disseminate that with my story but chose not to.

I am beyond disappointed with Prevention Magazine. I urge you to share my blog URL with your readers so they can see that yoga really is for EVERY body and that yoga can and does help with serious weight loss. I have no financial gain from this. I seek to help people see that yoga can help them heal in so many ways.

Here is the URL to my blog:

https://confessionsofayogaprincess.wordpress.com

Sincerely,

Nancy Taylor

Pic #1 MY Grateful Yoga Body

Image

 

Pic #2 The portion of the article that refers to me and my yoga story

Image

And, finally, a link to the Prevention story in its entirety. Please note that the online version doesn’t show my portion directly next to the picture of the skinny woman:

http://www.prevention.com/weight-loss/weight-loss-tips/surprising-way-gentle-yoga-can-help-you-lose-serious-weight

Follow me on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Body Image, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Open Letter to the Editors of Prevention

  1. I agree, what a disappointment. Referring so much to a “gentle yoga” is not really consistent with your story. Sweating “very little” is not what you do at all. AND they missed a great opportunity to reach a broader audience with a great picture of YOU! You’ll have to continue to tell your story yourself. The sweat makes a big difference to bodies like us!

  2. bgriffey2013 says:

    Yes, it’s disappointing on so many levels. As a reader, I’m disappointed that editors and publishers assume that I only want to see and to read about one standard of ‘beauty.’ No wonder our population is so cynical. Everything we read or see, on any topic, never reflects what we see and experience in our daily lives. There really are two Americas: the media version where everything is black and white (politics) and where everyone is ‘beautiful’ or on their way to an industry standard of beauty (general interest topics). If Prevention had been honest they would have photographed you and other actual practitioners of yoga, not models.

  3. Niki Pierce says:

    As we discussed before, 10-20 pounds is serious weight loss?!? Another example of the media giving in to society’s version of “overweight”. This article did not do you or your journey any justice! Prevention magazine could have reached a much larger audience by simply presenting the article as they originally intended to. What a disservice to the other people outside of this new version’s intended audience! Don’t let this discourage you Nancy. You are helping many, many people by sharing your passion for yoga, your drive to succeed, and your experiences motivate, inspire, and encourage the masses to seek out living life to the fullest in their own way, on their own terms! This was just a learning experience and I know you won’t let it deter you! Chin up and keep smilin’! Keep moving forward! 🙂

Leave a Reply

