Let’s Talk about Clothes AND Yoga

Ever since I can remember I’ve had a fondness for sleeveless clothes. As a child I never cared for tops or dresses with sleeves. This trend carried over into adulthood. Even at my heaviest, I never felt comfy or good or pretty wearing any arm coverings. They bothered me, these things called sleeves. Made me feel literally yucky.

My arms, all them, prefer to experience the freedom of the wind and the sun and fresh air. They enjoy exposure to the elements. They thrived living in such close contact with nature.

I remember being in London and going to Harrod’s for high tea. I wore a blue tank top. A few years later, at Christmas time, I found myself at the Ritz in London for afternoon tea. I wore an elegant black sleeveless cocktail dress. At yoga, even in my shy days, not an article of clothing fell on my arms.

Somehow the wings and flab on my arms never really bothered me. In some ways it still doesn’t.

But now, now, things are different. My arms have developed tone and definition. Consistent practice of yoga has given them that. I spend so much time in class working on alignment, whole body alignment and one of the effects of that effort can be seen in the toning of my arms.

In the pic below, I have posted an image from late July of 2013 and one from April of 2014. Take note of the difference in arms. It’s not just that they are smaller, they have more tone, greater definition. I don’t mind the flabby part because that’s more loose skin now than fat, and that shows progress.

When I think about my yoga practice, I’ve seen the most progress in my arms in half-moon. Over the past year my arms have developed so much strength in this pose. I can keep my arms straighter. My elbows can rotate in more. This is why I LOVE half-moon pose—it teaches me so much about my arms, about how they form “the steeple” that tops the devotional church that is my body.

Treat your body well on a consistent basis and it will pay you back in ways you never imagined. NOW STRAIGHTEN THOSE ARMS!!!  REACH UPWARD TO THE SKY!! TOUCH THE STARS AND WATCH YOUR DREAMS COME TRUE!!!!

The pic shows me in standing bow because this angle shows the change in my arms more than the half-moon pics do. To read more about half-moon, click on the following link: http://www.bikramyogales.com/bikram-yoga/bikram-26-postures/2-half-moon-pose/

Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

Image

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, Body Image, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Talk about Clothes AND Yoga

  1. Niki Pierce says:

    You have made such progress, in yoga and in your journey, Nancy! I hope you are as proud of yourself as I am of you! Way to go Nancy! Keep up the good work and keep moving forward! 🙂

  2. Alex.G says:

    wowww!!! such an improvment! it does not even seems the same practicioner! keep going 😀

Leave a Reply

