My Yoga Practice: My Yoga Body

I’m big girl. But if you’ve seen my pictures you know that. I don’t try to hide it. I rarely wear sleeves. I own only a few black items of clothing. I am who I am, and that’s all there is to it. I also have a passion for yoga, for life, for striving for greater health, for living. I have this blog, a website, a facebook page so that I can share all of that with the world.

I have learned so much about myself from yoga. When I’m in that hot room and I look into the mirror, through sweat-laden eyelashes, I see into my soul. I see a woman who has changed so much, who has and continues to evolve into a strong, self-assured individual.

It’s not that I don’t have inner strength, but I’m learning to listen to my own voice, to discover what’s right for me. How I want to eat, how I want to live, how I want to make decisions—I’m learning to be true to my soul. The journey toward self-realization comes with bumps and twists and unexpected surprises. I’ve learned to welcome these events for what they teach me about myself.

I want to share part of my road with all of you. I’ve shown you bits and pieces of my yoga practice before. I’ve done some YouTube videos, but never before have I given a more complete glimpse into my practice—until now.

On my website I have compiled a near-complete pictorial of the poses I do in the Bikram classes I attend. I have selected a variety of angles, many of them non-traditional because I wanted people to see, to really see what it’s like when this body does yoga.

Here’s the link: http://www.confessionsofayogaprincess.com/#!my-yoga-practice/c1j44

If I had a wish, I’d wish that people could feel that it doesn’t matter what body shape or size or features one has, yoga really is for EVERY body. I’ve seen videos of people with missing limbs doing yoga, doing Bikram yoga. If you can breathe, you can yoga.

Sure, it’s true that people discriminate against fat people. I’ve seen it and felt it. But I’m learning to say to myself, “so what?” You can do the same too! It really doesn’t matter what others think.

Go to yoga. Go hiking. Go walking. Go swimming. Go wherever. You’ll feel better. You really will. I feel better every time I do yoga. Even when I have moments where I despair over the size of my body I feel better doing yoga than if I’d eaten over my mood.

As the mood strikes me I’m going to write individual blog posts about the lessons each pose teaches me. For now though I want to share with you my near-complete practice, so you can really see that yoga really is for EVERY body. Don’t’ let others stop you. Keep being you. LIVE your life. I’m living mine. Yoga gives me that.

Image

Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess

Check out my website: http://www.confessionsofayogaprincess.com/

About yogaprincess7

I'm a woman on a mission to improve my life through yoga, fitness and happy living. You can find me on the following sites: http://www.confessionsofayogaprincess.com/ https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaYogaPrincess
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, Body Image and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Yoga Practice: My Yoga Body

  1. Niki Pierce says:

    Nancy…You truly are and continue to be an inspiration…motivation…encouragement…a force of positive thinking! You are such an amazing person and I am so glad that you are sharing your journey with others! I am with you all the way! Keep moving forward! :)

  2. You’re beautiful ♡ Thank you for sharing!

  3. Michelle Hewitt says:

    You are gorgeous and courageous. Yoga on sister!

  4. Julie says:

    A Beautiful & Powerful practice … Namaste <3

  5. Vanessa says:

    Thank you for this! I am sharing on my yoga page, I hope you don’t mind. We are all on this path together, so glad to have you along for the yoga journey!

  6. Brion says:

    Beautiful practice! Keep up the good work. I’m hooked too.

  7. carolyninjoy says:

    Reblogged this on Reviews & Recommendations and commented:
    Inspirationsl Yoga Princess.

  8. Rogelio says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without
    a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this site
    with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  9. silvermoon says:

    I too am a big girl and I too love yoga. I’m the biggest one and though I can’t fold up like some of the others, my teacher sees the progress I make each week and I feel my progress. It really is so positive to my life!!
    Wonderful that you follow your passion!

Leave a Reply

